Age of the Earth and universe

6,083 Views | 80 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by Jabin
BartInLA
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Young Earth hypothesis Is 6,000 to 10,000 years.
Most scientists say 4,540,000,000 years with the universe being
13,800,000,000 years. Modern and archaic mixed feature humans at 300,000 years and modern humans expanding from Africa 70,000 years.
What's your guess?
10andBOUNCE
AG
I'm a believer in a young earth.
BartInLA
I majored in physics at A&M so it was a bit of a challenge to reconcile my Lutheran beliefs with mainstream science. I believe faith is required and one of the reasons I believe in a personal God is I've experienced a few miracles that I can't explain away. I believe miracles are much more common than I recognize but a few have been incredibly life-changing and I can't begin to brush them off.
I have some loose theories about the age of things but those miracles don't fit normal life explanations so I accept them as divine gifts and appreciation. It makes me realize that some mystical things aren't explained by science as I know it.
Scotts Tot
AG
Once you let go of a literal interpretation of scripture, it's not that hard to reconcile creationism and a universe that's billions of years old.

I was forced to come to grips with this at A&M in my geology course load. The obvious physical evidence all over our planet leaves two options for believers in my opinion.

1. The earth is billions of years old. The time scale required in the evolution of species and aging of materials to the best of science's abilities indicates this. The Bible was not intended to serve as a technical chronology of the planet from inception.