Business & Investing
Sponsored by

paying off mortgage

5,812 Views | 67 Replies | Last: 26 days ago by infinity ag
RoyVal
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
so I just turned the big 5-0 a couple of weeks ago. and I always wanted to have a paid off house by the time I hit 50 and I have the opportunity to do it. Just looking for a little feedback and perspective here.

I have a 2.5% mortgage and have about 8 more years to pay it off. I should keep this mortgage forever right? seems like a no brainer....However I've been saving up my stock grants and dumping money into my employee stock purchase for the last 5 years in lieu of making extra house payments. This has paid off to the tune of 300% return over the last 3 years. (I work in the semi conductor/IT industry and as most of you know....semi's have been very, very good the last few years, especially with AI).

I know I can take this money out of my company stock (I've sold around 20-25% over the last few years to fund some home remodeling and to pay for my daughters college tuition....and possibly a few vacation trips lol) and reinvest it.....but I can't help the urge to use the long term gains and just pay off my house. I know I'm only at 2.5% interest...but those COVID years really changed some perspective for me...those years were lean (as I know they were or a lot of folks).

My rationale is easy: I have more stock coming for the next 4 years (RSUs) that have also appreciated, just need them to vest. I have emergency funds. I have no debt outside of the mortgage and a few years left on my work car that I get paid mileage from my company which covers most of the car payment so in no hurry to pay that off. And finally, mentally, knowing a reached a goal and have a paid off house would be very, very satisfying....but I know satisfying feelings don't pay for future expenditures LOL.

Just looking for a little perspective here....I know 'feelings' and 'finances' don't always play well together.