Are we recruiting any kids in deep south texas?

5,416 Views | 48 Replies | Last: 13 days ago by
mudboy....
How long do you want to ignore this user?
NeerRaw:
I am a little older than that, I graduated in 91.

Jgreg:
We probably know each other, i played in a lot of those and played with all those guys. I took a little hiatus(which probably doomed my golf career) in between there and later in HS, so we may have missed each other.
Austin Horns
proudaggie

Yeah, I think that was him. I was living in Austin but my dad goes to a lot of high school football games and I remember this running back being on the front page of the papers down there every weekend because he was so good. But he was dumb as a brick and didn't have the grades. He was blessed with all the talent and no brains. What a waste. I thought he was from Brownsville, but maybe you're right, he could have been from Harlingen. It would have been around 1997, 1998, or 1999. Sound right?
mudboy....
I think HHS could be Hanna also...
jgreg9
MUD - I graduated from HS in 91 as well, but I was from the Houston area. I hung around the Harlingen crew (Ricky Alvarez, the Cabrera brothers, among the others I mentioned in my previous post). We were probably in the same age group.

[This message has been edited by jgreg9 (edited 8/6/2004 12:11p).]
mudboy....
Did you play the Woodlands tourney? Where did you go to HS?
jgreg9
Dickinson HS - I played in a couple of tournaments at the Woodlands.
rodok
I think part of the change has come from the number of scholarships-in my day the fish class was 120 with about a 80% attrition rate.In the 50s and 60s many of us kids went from the Valley to SWC/UH etc. AT A&M we had lots of "Valley Rats" and most of us made it through the tough times as we were fairly used to playing in the hot and rough conditions of the Valley. The Valley was always well represented in all the schools.
james womack