No love for Boxing on here?

2,507 Views | 37 Replies | Last: 5 hrs ago by BudFox7
DeProfundis
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Where are my fellow savants of the sweet science?
gabehcoud
nursing homes?
carl spacklers hat
Checked out with CTE
People think I'm an idiot or something, because all I do is cut lawns for a living.
BigJim49 AustinNowDallas
AG
Boxing cancelled as an intramural sport when a boxer died in a match - about 1950.
BoomGoesThe
There have been a couple attempts at boxing threads on here, but they end up dying (much like the way sport itself is consumed by the general public). It's my favorite sport by far, but even my interest wanes at times. Between Showtime getting out the business (even there last two years stunk), top fighter's inactivity and the lack of big fights being made with any type of consistency, it's a tough sell.

It's also too dang expensive. Showtime was $150 a year, ESPN+ $140, DAZN $250 (for a crap product the last two years, after 3 years of being an excellent value at $99 and then $125) and then with so many of the big fights (especially PBC) going to PPV at $85 a clip; it costs over $1,000 a year to watch a hit or miss product….that you have to stay up until midnight to watch the main event. I still love it, though.
DeProfundis
BoomGoesThe said:

There have been a couple attempts at boxing threads on here, but they end up dying (much like the way sport itself is consumed by the general public). It's my favorite sport by far, but even my interest wanes at times. Between Showtime getting out the business (even there last two years stunk), top fighter's inactivity and the lack of big fights being made with any type of consistency, it's a tough sell.