Misquoting Jesus Podcast

2,676 Views | 22 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by AgLiving06
Blanco Jimenez
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone listen to this podcast with Bert Ehrman? I was a history teacher at one point so the history of the Bible has always been fascinating to me. I know what I believe and that is that Jesus Christ is the Messiah who died on the cross and was raised 3 days later but the things he discusses on this show are fascinating to me. I never realized that most scholars recognize that 6 of Paul's epistles probably weren't written by Paul himself. Anyway, it's fun for a history geek like myself to listen to.
DirtDiver
I've watched a few of his debates but not his podcast. I'm a fan of Daniel B. Wallace and I believe they have debated at least once.
Martin Q. Blank
He's an agnostic textual critic. What did you expect?
one MEEN Ag
AG
Bert Ehrman is kind of a pariah in two circles. First, atheist who generally know his talking points tend to think he's always reinventing the atheist arguments in a more hot take, lower quality, not so honest debate. Like his point about how there are more errors than words in the bible is just eye rolling how he came up with that math.

Secondly, denominations that have church-before-bible view of authority (catholic and orthodox) see that he is constantly (and ironically) misquoting the bible. He's got some work to do on his views of the Messiah according to the old testament.

I would highly recommend Lord of Spirits podcast, it does a great job analyzing tough biblical topics. If you go to their website, they have transcripts for every episode. Just search "friend of the show Bert Ehrman" if you want a collection of all the times they specifically call out Bert's criticisms.
AGC
AG
one MEEN Ag said: