Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

***Weightlifting Thread***

95,326 Views | 1418 Replies | Last: 4 days ago by Tex117
CC09LawAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Anyone looking to add a big chunk of weight to your collection at a great price, Bells of Steel has a pair of 100 pound plates going for $229.99 right now:

Black Edition Mighty Grip Plates - Bells Of Steel USA
10andBOUNCE
AG
Those are actually the plates I bought last year. I need to get more and I love the economical idea of 100# plates, but I feel like I am more likely to injure myself from loading the bar than performing the movement.
Beau Holder
AG
Absolute win.
TikkaShooter
I'd like some input on full body vs body part split.

In the past (I've been lifting for approx 10 years) I've run body part splits, combining compounds and accessory work, but splitting into body part days either by push or pull, or some other form of splitting up the week.

As I've aged, I've felt more joint pain in certain areas, and so I've turned to full body workouts for the past few months. Its let me increase my volume in certain areas (ex: Legs) but I've also had my joints recover faster. They just overall feel better.

For example - rather than having a leg day or 2, every day is now leg day. 5 days a week there is some leg focused exercise in the workout. By the end of the week, I've put in more volume than when I had leg days, and my joints feel great bc there was never a day where I "blasted" my legs (and joints). Same goes for elbows - my other joint that generally angry at me. No more arm day - now every day has an arm component.

Thoughts on full body vs part/bro split and its impact on muscle growth and recovery?
ttha_aggie_09
AG
That depends entirely on what your goal is. If it's just overall fitness, muscle maintenance, etc., it's not a bad approach. If you're trying to add a bunch of muscle mass and increase strength, specialization is almost always a better approach.
Tex117
AG
TikkaShooter said: