Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Homebrew Board - Recipes

380,929 Views | 3348 Replies | Last: 26 days ago by bmc13
txagfisher
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
FWIW, i use a SS unitank with immersion coils for temp control. Only using ice in a cooler right now and have no issues except for the amount of ice it takes to cold crash. However, it is only a temporary setup until I build up the funds to buy a glycol chiller. I would have gone with a chest freezer, but fermentation space is at a premium in our house.
AlaskanAg99
AG
There's so many more options now than years ago when it was pretty much glass carboys. I live the idea of the SS brew buckets but the pickup and valve just look so janky.

I was lucky to buy both my Conicals used.
Kyle98
AG
I've got a couple of PET Big Mouth Bubblers and love them.
Moxie
AG
FYI: Yakima Valley flash sale this month is for Azacca. I have never used it before but looks like a nice dual purpose with high AA.

Website
AlaskanAg99
AG
Azacca is a weird hop. I've had some smash beers with it.

My Trappist single is done fermenting. Apparently so is the IPA, but I never saw much activity. Going to take samples of both tomorrow. I expect the Single to be done, but I'm worried about the IPA...I've never had US05 fail.
62strat
AG
I 'inherited' a morebeer thermoelectrically cooled conical from my uncle (he's not dead!). It's nice, but can't heat, and honestly the price point is way too high compared to other modern options. When my uncle got it in 2002-ish, there wasn't much else available.

If it ever dies, I'll go wth a spike brewing conical and plop it in an upright freezer with a ceramic bulb so I can cool and heat. I feel setting ambient temp has way more control and less temp swing than circulating fluids in the beer.
AlaskanAg99
AG